First Year at UU – Fall Break and Reflection

Chandler Bell headshot

Post by Chandler Bell, freshman accounting major

Fall break at Union University is a wonderful thing.  For me, it was wonderful because I got to go home and see my family, eat some awesome home-cooked meals, and sleep. And when I say sleep, I mean sleep a lot.  I didn’t realize just how busy college is until I had the chance to step away from all the studying and socializing I’ve done in the past two months.  It was a great time to reflect on how I’ve spent my time at Union, and the first two words that come to mind when I think about the past two months are fun and challenging.

College has been the most fun I’ve ever had.  Living with and around your best friends is one of the coolest things to experience.  There are so many ways to get involved around campus.  I’m involved in Greek life and student government, and they are both great ways to get connected here at Union.  The opportunities don’t stop there, though!  From Student Activities Council to the Debate Team, there are so many different ways you can find a fun way to get involved at Union.  The fun you can have in college is pretty much limitless, but it’s not all fun and games.

When it comes to classes, Union’s curriculum is challenging, and at first that intimidated me.  Then I realized that the whole point of college is to grow.  Since I’ve been at Union, I have grown so much in and outside of the classroom, all because I have been challenged to give my best.  Academically, I have been pushed to not only recall things from textbooks, but also actually learn and understand the material I am studying.  Socially, I have been given so many opportunities to make new friends and step out of my comfort zone.  Spiritually, I have been poured into more than ever before.  My peers and the faculty at Union intentionally invest in my spiritual life, and that is priceless.

These things combined make Union such a unique and special place to me because it is so hard to find an environment that allows you to grow while also having the time of your life.  That may be why, when I was enjoying my time of rest and relaxation at home, I was missing Union. After only two months here, it is so clear that Union is a second home.  The relationships I have built and the community here has made it feel like a place where I am welcomed, appreciated, respected and deeply cared for.

Miller Tower in the fall at Sunset

Comments

Leave a Reply

