First Year at UU – SAC Behind the Scenes

StevenCutliff-200Post by Steven Cutliff, freshman international business major

My name is Steven Cutliff, and I’m a new SACling. By that I mean I’m a first year member of the Student Activities Council. As a SAC member, I got the chance to work the Casey Jones Hullabaloo event earlier this month, and I had so much fun! I believe there is a major difference between what it feels like to attend an event and to be a part of making the event happen. Instead of enjoying an event for the sake of simply having fun, we get to find ways to make our event the most enjoyable for everyone involved.

I’ve heard things described as a person’s “baby” before, and I always thought it was a strange phrase. Now I get it. Hullabaloo was a lot of work, but it was pretty awesome to see a small idea turn into an event the whole student body had the chance to enjoy. Hullabaloo was my baby, and it was amazing to see what it grew into. When the event first started, I was worried that no one would come. All of us SAC members were good to go, with our flannel shirts and work assignments, but there weren’t very many people. I started to panic. I was in charge of the hot chocolate, and though I had rows of steaming cups lined up, people were still trickling in. It turns out it was just the calm before the storm. Soon there were people everywhere I looked! It became a struggle to keep up with the huge demand for hot chocolate. On two separate occasions my job was to inform people that we were completely out and waiting for the staff from The Old Country Store, which is part of Casey Jones Village, to bring us more.

Before the event started, all of the SAC members were admonished to step back, at least once, and just enjoy the night. We were told that if we focused only on what needed to happen we would miss the great things that were going on. I’m so glad I was given that advice. When I did get the chance to take a good look, I saw smiling friends laughing and enjoying tasty treats by the fires, I heard beautiful music being played for a crowd that was enthusiastic in showing its appreciation for the musicians’ efforts, and I felt the crisp air in my lungs. It was great. There was something for everyone. There was even a small bit of mosh pit action towards the end for those who were into that sort of thing (I participated eagerly). It was so fulfilling to know that I had been a part of making this happen. I feel like I got to know each person there just a little bit. If you were at the event, I just want to say “thank you” for making it so wonderful.

10622699_909867229042438_2695180475933457071_nMobile phone photo above courtesy of Erika Borrero

Photos below by Morris Abernathy, staff photographer

hullaballoo_unionuniversity_1 hullaballoo_unionuniversity_2 hullaballoo_unionuniversity_3 hullaballoo_unionuniversity_4

Comments

Leave a Reply

