First Year at UU – Adjusting to Life in the US

Yee Eun Lee headshot

Post by Yee Eun Lee, freshman pre-professional major

During the first four months at Union, I have made the biggest transition of my life. I didn’t realize how difficult and exciting it would be not only to live on my own, but also to live in a new country.

I have travelled all the way from the Philippines to come to Union University. Having lived in the Philippines for 19 years, I have to say, adjusting to America was quite challenging. I remember having difficulty adjusting to the deep-fried food. Even though I love eating anything that is deep-fried, the sudden change in diet was a shock to my system. Also, when I was talking to my fellow freshmen friends, I could understand them perfectly until I heard someone with a Southern accent. I could only pick up a couple of phrases and words they would say, but overall, I had no clue what they were saying. Another major difficulty I faced was seasonal changes in Jackson. Since the Philippines is a tropical country, it only has two seasons: rain and more rain. As the weather here in Jackson is slowly getting colder, I always have to wear at least three layers of clothes to keep me warm between my walks to PAC from my dorm.

Yee Eun Lee and her friends

Despite the difficulties I had in adjusting to America, I have been able to adjust smoothly, thanks to my Union family. Many of the upperclassmen helped me adjust to America by mapping out where the banks, restaurants, grocery stores and convenience stores are located. They were always willing to give me rides and even tell me crazy stories of their adventures around town. Other international students also helped me adjust by telling me the struggles that they went through during their freshman year. My roommates have also been amazing, because they continuously cheer me on and make me laugh with their jokes and fear of spiders.

I am blessed to have experienced even the difficult times, because through them I have grown so much. I have learned that no matter how hard our current situation is, God will always provide a way. This doesn’t mean that I have fully adjusted to America; in fact, I don’t know if I will ever fully adjust. One thing I know for sure is that God has placed me at Union University with many people who care, and I am truly blessed to be a part of the Union family.

Photos of Yee Eun Lee with her friends at Union

 

Leave a Reply

