First Year at UU – The Long Winter Break

Josiah Murphy headshot

Post by Josiah Murphy, freshman broadcast journalism major

I was scrolling through my Twitter feed awhile ago and came across a tweet by @CollegeStudent that said, College makes you appreciate home, home makes you appreciate college.Now that I have just finished Christmas break and am two weeks into the spring semester, I have a new appreciation for that quote.

After the conclusion of finals last semester, I was ready to go home, see my family, catch up on some much needed sleep, and eat a home cooked meal. While on break I also had the opportunity to catch up with old friends and to work. It is really easy to become disconnected from my family being eight hours away at college, so the long break gave me the opportunity to catch up on everything that had happened while I was gone.

During the month of January, Union has an optional J-Term which allows students to live on campus and take accelerated courses. This is helpful if you dont have enough credit hours to graduate on time or to get ahead and help you graduate early. If you choose not participate in J-Term, then you get a nearly two-month-long break.

However, the downside to having such a long break is you start to miss your friends. I have made so many solid friendships here at Union that not seeing those friends for two months is almost torture. Living with your friends allows you to develop deep relationships very quickly. Whenever you want to hang out with someone, all you have to do is take a quick walk over to his or her room (if he or she doesnt live with you). Though I greatly enjoyed my time at home, I realized how much my new friends meant to me.

As you begin your last semester of high school, I encourage you to finish strong. You have a lot to look forward to in college, but dont let it distract you from the task at hand. Know that many of us here at Union are praying for you and your decision, and we hope to see you on campus next fall!

150216VM_C&CSeniorSpotlight_157_Edits-2

Photo by Victor Miller, student photographer

Leave a Reply

